Time to Kick some “Thyroid Cancer” Behind

Next up on my agenda of surgeries:  Thyroidectomy with left neck lymph node dissection

Tomorrow’s the day for Surgery #3.

My surgery starts around 8:00 a.m. tomorrow (8/7).  It is a 6 hour surgery:  complete thyroid removal and then removal of the lymph nodes on the left side of my neck.  I will be staying at least one night in the hospital.

I’m planning to kick thyroid cancer’s butt (just as I have breast cancer).  My biggest worry right now really is the risk associated with this surgery of damage to my vocal chords.  If I can’t raise my voice at my kids or sing to them I will be pretty pissed off. 🙂

I’ve heard from other physicians that my surgeon is VERY skilled and one of the best.  I do have a lot of confidence in her so that puts me at ease as much as possible.

I’ve been so busy finishing up work, making chicken soup from scratch, washing tons of laundry, and getting the house in order that I’m looking forward to laying in bed for a bit. 🙂

I will have Jer post a blog once I come out of surgery (late afternoon).

Thanks again for all your thoughts and prayers!

3 thoughts on “Time to Kick some “Thyroid Cancer” Behind

  1. My prayers are with you Kristen. I’ll wake up and think about your surgery and pray. Have a good night! Kick cancer’s butt!

  2. You will be in my prayers tonight, and many nights after that:) This is it. You will be cancer free after this….Thank God for that! I love the camping pics, how fun! Jackson lost his first tooth today. My little boy is growing up…sniff, sniff. Please let us know how you’re doing tomorrow after your surgery. Hugs, Debbie

Leave a Reply

