Good News & More Good News

After the Radioactive Iodine (RAI) Treatment, I had a full body scan (head to toe) by the Nuclear Med Team.

GOOD NEWS:  There were no thyroid cancer cells anywhere in my body except a few in my central neck.  Some residual in my neck was to be expected.  I will be scanned again at 6 months and then a year if needed and the doctor expects that those few cells in my central neck will have died by then.

Shortly after my RAI treatment I got a call from the Genetics Team.  They did find I have a mutation in my CHEK2 gene.  This mutation gives me a 2 fold risk of breast cancer with additional risk of colon and thyroid cancers.  Less common are risks for melanoma and ovarian.  My Oncologist has not taken the Cowden’s Syndrome off my record yet but I’m hoping this mutation means I do not have Cowden’s (CHEK2 mutation would be the lesser of the two evils I guess).  The good news is I’ve covered almost all of my bases before knowing I had this specific mutation (bilateral mastectomy, thyroidectomy, RAI, cleared annual dermatology check-up recently, and had already scheduled a colonoscopy).

MORE GOOD NEWS:  The results of my colonoscopy today….everything looks normal…not even a single polyp!  Yay!  (I’m still feeling nauseas from the procedure today but otherwise doing well).

On another note: We had a cold but clear day after Halloween so we took the kids to Multnomah Falls for the first time.  They enjoyed seeing the waterfall up close!

Mult Falls DSC00490 DSC00491 DSC00498

3 thoughts on “Good News & More Good News

  1. It’s great to hear that you got good news! I’m sure the RAI procedure was tough on you all, but it sounds like you made the best of it. ☺️ You do look great, and I’m so glad you were able to sneak a fun event in with the family. Happy thanksgiving!

Leave a Reply

